Melissa McKinnon: Artist

Melissa McKinnon is a Contemporary Canadian Landscape Artist living and painting in Calgary, AB.

paintings, art, tree art, artwork, spring, aspen, birch, Calgary artist, Canadian artist, Alberta Landscape Painter, Contemporary Alberta Artist, Alberta Landscape Painting, Calgary paintings, Birch Tree Painting, Birch Tree Paintings, Aspen Tree Painting, Aspen Tree Paintings, Calgary Fine Art, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, Canadian Rocky Mountains, Banff, Canmore, Lake Louise, sky, prairies, mountain, mountains, lake, river, water, ocean, beach, playa, clouds, leaves, flowers, floral, abstract, Canada, Rockies, Art collector, artist to collect, original paintings, landscape paintings, oil paintings, acrylic paintings,tree paintings,paintings of trees, abstract paintings, abstract, modern, contemporary, fine art, art, art gallery,contemporary landscape painting, contemporary landscape artist, contemporary art, contemporary painting, aspen artist, Melissa Mckinnon, Aspen paintings, Aspen tree art, Aspen tree artist, Autumn Aspens, Autumn birches, Aspens, Autumn leaves, Birches, Big paintings, large paintings, impasto, thick paint, paintings with texture, palette knife, birch art, birch paintings, landscape painting commission, Painting Commission, Commission artist painter, custom painting, Aspen fine art, aqua art painting, teal art painting, turquoise art painting, yellow art painting, green art painting, black and white art painting, blue art painting, bright colors, bright painting, colourful painting, colourful, paintings for sale, home decor trends, art gallery, art exhibit, new paintings, art shows, custom paintings, painting commission, paintings for sale, greeting cards, art greeting cards,artistic note cards, custom greeting cards, aspen birch tree greeting cards, pintura, quadro, Chile arts, South America art,abstract painting, tree painting, bird painting, birds flying, bright colors, colorful painting, aqua, teal, turquoise, orange, yellow, metallic, gold, winter tree painting, winter landscape, winter trees, spring tree forest, aspen tree painting, birch tree painting aspen trees, birch trees, thick texture, impasto painting.

“My Dream For You” Original Abstract Acrylic Aspen / Birch Tree Painting by Canadian Artist Melissa McKinnon

3 Comments

abstract painting, tree painting, bird painting, birds flying, bright colors, colorful painting, aqua, teal, turquoise, orange, yellow, metallic, gold, winter tree painting, winter landscape, winter trees, spring tree forest, aspen tree painting, birch tree painting aspen trees, birch trees, thick texture, impasto painting.

“My Dream For You” 36×48 Original Abstract Acrylic Aspen / Birch Tree Painting on Canvas by Canadian Artist Melissa McKinnon

My Dream For You

This is the most abstract and conceptual painting in my Aspen / Birch Tree Series. My husband doesn’t “get” it, but I love it. I am absolutely in love with it. This painting is very personal for me not only because of the process that I went through to create it but also because it represents everything wonderful that I could ever dream and wish for my girls.

~

My Dearest, Isabella and Valentina,

As your parent, I want the very best life experience for you. So much so that it hurts when I think about the possibility of any hardships that you might encounter.

This is my dream for you:

I want you to know love. To love and be loved. Deeply. To love yourself and all those who are lucky enough to share their lives with you.

I want you to dream BIG. I have always believed that anything you want for your life is possible, work hard to make your dreams come true and they will. I want you to believe in yourselves, to have the confidence to take chances, on life, on love, on yourselves.

I want you to love what you do, to discover and cultivate your passion. Never give up on your dreams. You deserve to be happy.

This painting is for you. It represents my dream for you – that one day all of your dreams will come true. When you look at it I want you to see a bright and welcoming world with endless possibilities.

I want you to live in a world where forests are painted with colors that inspire you,

a world where trees become leaves

and leaves become birds

and those birds are you,

free to fly wherever your heart takes you.

I love you.

Love always and forever,

Your Mom

~

Trying to express all of my hopes and dreams for my children visually in a painting has been my biggest challenge yet as an artist. There were many times when I felt frustrated, I felt the painting wasn’t working – I wanted to walk away.

I wanted this painting to be beautiful.

Magical.

Inspirational.

And if it couldn’t be those things, I didn’t want to do it. The entire process of creating this piece was a challenge. In the end, I released my insatiable desire for perfection and allowed my heart to lead, instead of my mind.

This is the outcome and I love it. It represents all of the qualities that I want to instill in my girls… as well as myself.

When something is challenging, don’t give up. Persevere and eventually you will achieve your goals.

If you are passionate about something, don’t sacrifice it for anything.

In life, do what makes you happy.

I hope you enjoy this painting as much as I do.

Abstract painting, tree painting, bird painting, birds flying, bright colors, colorful painting, aqua, teal, turquoise, orange, yellow, metallic, gold, winter tree painting, winter landscape, winter trees, spring tree forest, aspen tree painting, birch tree painting aspen trees, birch trees, thick texture, impasto painting, dreams, hope, raising kids, raising children, when kids grow up, inspirational words for girls, inspiration for kids, aspen trees, birch trees, spring trees, life lessons, words from a mother to her child, advice from Mother, local artist, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, Vancouver, Toronto, Montreal, Halifax, Canadian artist.
Author: Melissa Mckinnon Artist

I am a Canadian artist and mother of two beautiful, spirited and loving girls, living and working in Calgary, Alberta. I love to paint large scale acrylic paintings with vibrant color and thick texture. To see my work, visit my website and blog at: www.melissamckinnon.wordpress.com

3 thoughts on ““My Dream For You” Original Abstract Acrylic Aspen / Birch Tree Painting by Canadian Artist Melissa McKinnon

  1. Dear Melissa,
    Although we don’t know eachother, I am a carmelite father from Holland and I was vivisting some times my brothers in Missisauga and Niagara Falls Monastery (Toronto), I am very much touched by the beauty of your paintings and also in the same way by how you expressed the ‘way’, I would say the ‘spiritual way’ you were and are journeying together with your beloved ones. My congratulations and best wishes in your beautiful work. Fr. Cees Bartels o.carm. Holland

  2. What a wonderful gift for your girls. They will ‘get it’ even if your husband doesn’t. Beautiful!

  3. Pingback: SOLD! “A Night To Remember” Original Acrylic Aspen / Birch Tree Painting by Contemporary Canadian Artist Melissa McKinnon | Melissa McKinnon: Artist

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you!

