Melissa McKinnon: Artist

Melissa McKinnon is a Contemporary Canadian Landscape Artist living and painting in Calgary, AB.

Autumn Fall Tree Painting, Top artist to collect, Most Collected Canadian Artist, Top 40 Under 40, Alberta contemporary artist, collecting contemporary art, Alberta contemporary painter, paintings of trees, colorful tree paintings, acrylic tree forest painting, aspen tree forest, acrylic impasto painting, paintings with bright color, colourful landscape paintings, vivid colour contemporary art, contemporary art, colorful art, Calgary artist, Canadian artist, Alberta Landscape Artist, Contemporary Alberta Artist,Calgary painter,Alberta Landscape Painting, Calgary paintings, Birch Tree Painting, Birch Tree Paintings, Aspen Tree Painting, Aspen Tree Paintings, Calgary Fine Art, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, Canadian Rocky Mountains, Banff, Canmore, Lake Louise, Red Deer, Edmonton, Victoria, Vancouver, Winnipeg, Regina, Montreal, Toronto, Halifax, Ottawa, Aspen, Colorado, local artist, original paintings, landscape paintings, acrylic paintings, birch tree acrylic paintings, tree paintings, aspen tree acrylic paintings, abstract paintings, abstract, modern, contemporary, fine art, art, art gallery, contemporary landscape painting, contemporary landscape artist, contemporary art, contemporary painting, aspen artist, Melissa Mckinnon, Aspen paintings, Aspen tree forest painting, Autumn Aspen trees, spring aspen birch trees, summer aspen birch trees, winter aspen trees, summer, spring, fall, autumn, winter, Aspen forest, Aspen landscape, Aspen tree art, Aspen tree artist, Autumn Aspens, Autumn birches, Aspens, Autumn leaves, Birches, big paintings, large paintings, impasto, thick paint, paintings with texture, palette knife, birch art, birch paintings, landscape painting commission, Painting Commission, Aspen fine art, red painting, aqua, teal, turquoise, yellow painting, gold, green painting, black and white, fuschia, brown painting, orange, blue painting, black, white, bright colors, bright painting, colorful painting, colourful, warm colors, cool colors, paintings for sale, home decor trends, art gallery, art exhibit, new paintings, art shows, custom paintings, painting commission, paintings for sale, art prints, art reproductions, giclee prints, greeting cards, art greeting cards, custom painting, custom greeting cards, aspen birch tree greeting cards.

3 Things That Inspired “A Night To Remember” Original Acrylic Aspen / Birch Tree Painting

Leave a comment

“A Night to Remember” is the newest painting in my Aspen / Birch tree series.

"A Night To Remember" 48 x 36 Original Acrylic Aspen / Birch Tree Painting on Canvas

“A Night To Remember” 48 x 36 Acrylic on Canvas

So much of my heart and soul goes into each and every painting that I create. Painting is a very personal process for me. There is a story behind each one. I draw inspiration from many sources and each one fuels my creativity in unique and sometimes surprising ways.

Nature

Obviously I am inspired by nature and I am in awe of the changing beauty of the Alberta and Canadian landscape. Trees in particular represent growth, change, and stability, qualities that I find intriguing and inspirational. Birch trees have always been my favorite ever since I was a little girl and I don’t think that I could ever tire of painting their nubbly, textured, peeling bark or their crisp, shimmering, colorful leaves. They are visually stunning.

My Art Collectors

I usually don’t show my paintings until they are completely finished usually because until that point I am still not quite sure if the painting will be a success or not. (Read about the 3 stages of my love affair with painting HERE)

Several weeks ago I had the pleasure of meeting a wonderful couple who were interested in collecting a piece of my work. While speaking with them about my painting process I offered to show them this painting while it was still a work in progress. Here it is unfinished:

Work In Progress "A Night To Remember" 48 x 36 Aspen / Birch Tree Acrylic Painting on Canvas

Work In Progress “A Night To Remember” 48 x 36 Acrylic Painting on Canvas

It was through talking with them and listening to their stories and feedback of my work, that I was inspired to incorporate more red and texture into the foreground. It just goes to show that inspiration can come from anywhere; you just have to be open to receiving it! I love to hear comments and feedback about my work, it helps to keep me motivated and inspired. So please, leave a comment below and tell me your thoughts.

Personal Experience

While painting, “A Night To Remember” I was inspired by memories and the process of remembering. How is it possible that I can’t remember what I ate for lunch last week yet when I hear a particular song, I can be instantly transported back in memory time and relive an entire night as if it were occurring once again? It fascinates me that two people can remember the same event in completely different ways. I also love how memories change with time, perhaps they fade and details get lost, or perhaps they grow and through fantasy,  details can become enhanced. Sometimes my memories cease to be true recollections of fact and slowly start to resemble fantasy more than reality. At what point does a memory become a fantasy? This painting represents a moment in my life somewhere between memory and fantasy.

This might all sound too deep and existential for a painting of a birch tree forest but alas, these are the thoughts that surface while I paint. Painting for me is my time to be creative, free, and dedicated to myself. It’s a time that I can escape the grind of daily life and think about anything that I want… anything other than preschool, play dates and what to make the kids for lunch. It is often therapeutic.  Nonetheless,  “A Night To Remember” is still a beautiful painting of an Autumn birch tree forest full of bold color and thick texture.

The memory that inspired it will always be my little secret 😉

Calgary artist, Calgary painter, original paintings, landscape paintings, tree paintings, aspen tree acrylic paintings, art, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, Canada Rocky Mountains, Banff, Canmore, Edmonton, Vancouver, Toronto, Montreal, Halifax, Winnepeg, Saskatoon, local artist, artist, professional painter, contemporary landscape painting, contemporary landscape artist, contemporary art, contemporary painting, aspen artist, Aspen paintings, Aspen art, Aspen tree forest painting, birch tree painting, birch tree paintings, Autumn Aspen trees, Aspen forest, birch tree forest, Aspen landscape, Aspen tree art, Aspen tree artist, Aspen tree paintings, Autumn Aspens, Autumn birches, Autumn leaves, Birches, birch tree art, birch tree paintings, fine art, Aspen trees, birch trees, thick texture, palette knife painting, red, gold, yellow, orange, brown, black, white, fall autumn colors, fall autumn leaves, modern art, abstract painting, paintings for sale, calgary art galleries, art gallery painting, tree paintings for sale, art prints for sale.
Author: Melissa Mckinnon Artist

I am a Canadian artist and mother of two beautiful, spirited and loving girls, living and working in Calgary, Alberta. I love to paint large scale acrylic paintings with vibrant color and thick texture. To see my work, visit my website and blog at: www.melissamckinnon.wordpress.com

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you!

